Immediately after a car accident, your first thoughts are of fear. It can be a tremendously frightening situation. But if you know what to do after a car accident in Kenosha, it can relive some of that stress. For over 35 years, the experienced attorneys of the Law Offices of R.F. Wittmeyer, Ltd. have put together a list of tips to help you stay calm after a crash. Additionally, each of these steps ensure that you are following the law in the state of Wisconsin. Additionally, taking all of these steps may help you recover damages.
After taking a few deep breathes, check for injuries for yourself and your passengers. Then, check to see if the other driver and their passengers are injured. If anyone is injured or you can see sparks or smell smoke, call 911 immediately. Even if you do not see anyone immediately in need of medical assistance, we recommend calling 911 as soon as possible.
Next, if possible, move the vehicles to a safe place where they are not obstructing the flow of traffic. Once you are out of the way of traffic, stay calm.
What to Avoid Immediately After a Crash
Do not confront the other driver for any reason. Similarly, do not apologize or admit fault for the accident. Do not agree to allow the other driver to pay cash for damage in lieu of reporting the accident. Some damage to your vehicle and some injuries to your person are not always immediately apparent.
Remember, if you have suffered injuries after a crash in Kenosha, contact an attorney before speaking to anyone else.
Reporting a Car Wreck in Kenosha
In Wisconsin, you must report a car accident if a driver or passenger involved in the accident was killed or suffered bodily injury in the accident. Additionally, Wisconsin requires mandatory reporting of car accidents if more than $1,000 in property damage occurred in the accident (including a state or government-owned vehicle) or more than $200 damage to state or government-owned property (non-vehicle).
You are also required to call police if a vehicle needs to be towed or if the accident involved injuring or killing a deer or other wildlife. Property damage includes the vehicles involved and any damage to property surrounding the accident. With the current cost of vehicles, it is safest to assume that at least $1000 in damage occurred during the accident, and you should call the police.
Next, remember to document everything. Write your own report of the time and place of the accident. Make sure that you include the other driver’s information including their name, address, phone number, license plate, make/model of their vehicle, and their insurance company and other relevant policy information.
After the police arrive and fill out their own official report, remember to get a copy of the police report. This will include the information of the accident including the time and place that the accident occurred, the weather at the time the accident occurred, and the contact information for you and the other driver. The police will typically provide the Wisconsin Department of Transportation with a copy of the police report within 10 days after the accident occurs. However, following up to make sure that the Wisconsin Department of Transportation received the report is a good practice.
If you follow all of these reporting steps, it will help the knowledgeable Kenosha car accident attorneys at the Law Offices of R.F. Wittmeyer, Ltd. work their hardest for a favorable outcome for any negligence claim that might arise.
What If Someone Leaves the Scene of an Accident?
Never, ever leave the scene of an accident without following the steps above. In Wisconsin, leaving the scene of even a minor accident without injuries may include penalties up to $1000 in fines and spending up to six months in jail.
Contact an Attorney After a Car Crash in Kenosha
Understanding what to do after a car accident in Kenosha can help make the scary and stressful situation more manageable. If you or someone you know has been involved in a crash, contact the Law Offices of R.F. Wittmeyer, LTD. today.